agahi-awards-listThe Agahi Award was distributed among 44 journalists appreciating their quality work in a ceremony held on Saturday at Pakistan National Council of Arts. The event was attended by senior journalists, diplomats, and professionals and from media industry.  More than 3000 entries were received in 50 categories from all over Pakistan. Values and ethics were celebrated in the event.

Amir Zia won award for Investigative Journalist of the Year for his cover story “Is the Party Over”? Mubarak Zeb Khan won the award in the category of Foreign Policy, Almas Naqvi won in Democratic Values, Allah Bux Arisar in Water and Food Security, Waleed Tariq in Business and Economy, Saleem ur Rehman Afridi in Community Driven Local Development, Zahir Shah Sherazi, Asad Hashmi and Anila Chugtai in Extremism and Terrorism, Yosuf Sohail in Economic Opportunity and Imran Malik won the award in Corporate Social Responsibility.

The Agahi Awards- Beyond 2015 was also given to Amber R. Shamsi for the category in Law and Order, Mureeb Mohmand in Human Rights, Hanif Samoon in Child Rights, Sara Farid in Photojournalism, Riaz Sohail in Interfaith, Hassan Belal Zaidi in Media Ethics, Umer Bin Ajmal in Infotainment, Aneela Ashraf in Judiciary, Naqeebullah Tarn in Sports, Saba Eitizaz in Disaster and Catastrophe, Zahid Gishkori in Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights, Mansor Malik in Curriculum Reform, Muhammad Atif Sheikh in Youth Empowerment, Vocational and Technical Training, Dr. Irfan Ahmed in Energy, Salman Haqqi in Open Government, Sultan Dogar in Education Infrastructure and School Condition, Fayaz Ahmed in Girls Education, Khalid Khattak in Education, Sehrish Wasif in Out of School Children, Shabbir Wahgra in Children with no access to school, Bina Shah got award for Women Empowerment, Zia Ur Rehman received in Governance, Bushra Qamar in Culture received Agahi Awards-Beyond 2015 as appreciation of their outstanding work and contribution in certain category.